FWAR Poetry Contest

Here is your chance to participate in a fun, fair and competitive contest. Free Writers and Readers is hosting the 3rd Poetry contest now.  All levels are welcome. Check the details here.

Lyricwithmyedits

First, you need to be a member of the group. Click on the link to join.

Free Writers and Readers

Tell them that Lorenz Font or LFC Hotstuff sent you. Once your member ship is approved, you must join the poetry contest group to be able to see the rules and participate in the contest. You can do that here.

FWAR Poetry Contest

This is the current theme for the contest.  If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a message here or contact the group administrators.

It’s great to be back for another fun and creative contest.

For this particular round, we are going to explore Lyric poetry.

What is a Lyric poem?

A lyric poem expresses personal or emotional feelings and is traditionally set in the present tense. Lyric Poetry consists of a poem, such as a sonnet or an ode that expresses the thoughts and feelings of the poet. The term lyric is now commonly referred to as the words to a song.

Lyric poetry does not tell a story which portrays characters and actions. The lyric poet addresses the reader directly, portraying his or her own feeling, state of mind, and perceptions. It is not always, set to music or a beat. So basically, it is a short poem of song-like quality.

Here’s more:

Lyric is supposedly susceptible of being sung to the accompaniment of a musical instrument (in ancient times, usually a lyre) or that expresses intense personal emotion in a manner suggestive of a song. Lyric poetry expresses the thoughts and feelings of the poet and is sometimes contrasted with narrative poetry and verse drama, which relate the events in form of a story.

Sounds good so far? Great! Since we are not quite ancient, this is where we’re going to make it more interesting. Here’s an additional challenge for our creative contestants. Although Lyric poems are not always set to a music or beat, we want to see a bit of that hidden musical composer in you. Provide us the link to the music piece that you pick that inspired your entry.

A sample of video with Lyric Poem

Please note: we are not taking credit for the video and the poetry

Wish You Were Here with Me

I’m driving down this country road, it’s all in bloomTop down I’m listenin’ to our favorite tune Missin’ you next to me with your perfume
 Wishin’ you were here with me


 Thinkin’ ‘bout last night and what you said

 Can still feel your touch as I look ahead

 It feels so good that it fills my head

 I’m wishin’ you were here with me


 Here with me..

 I know with you I just win

 It’s easy to see..

 If I don't know now then when


 I find myself smiling just thinking of you 

 The world through your love is such a great view

 This feelin’s so real I don't want to come to

 I’m wishin’ you were here with me


 I’m wishin’, you were here


 Here with me..

 I know with you I just win

 It’s easy to see..

 If I don't know now then when


 We’ll have our time just you and me girl

 I wouldn’t trade you for the whole world

 I think we ought to just give it a whirl

 I’m wishin’ you were here with me


 Yeah, I’m sure this is the time for you and me girl..

 I’m wishin’ you were here with me..


 Here with me..

 I know with you I just win

 It’s easy to see..

 If I don't know now then when


 I’m wishin’ you were here

 Oh wishin’, wishin’, wishin’ you were here..


 (I am wishin’)

 I am wishin’


 (You’re here with me)

 You’re here with me


 (Wishin’ you were with me)

 Wishin’ you were here with me

 Here with me..

 (Here with me)

 I’m wishin’ you here with me..

 I’m wishin’ you here with me..

 I’m wishin’ you here with me..


By: Shawn Sackman
Poetry Link

Easy right? Now, get your musical spirit going and give us a taste of your composition. Good luck!

Contest specifics:

Provide a Youtube link to the instrumental musical piece that inspired your work.

Poem word limit will be 400 words max.

Announce September 1st.

Start accepting entries 15th

Deadline is the 30th
Voting October 1st – 5th.
Winners Announced October 6
Leave a Reply

