Death By Promotion: Getting Real About the Costs to Authors and Readers in the Current Marketing Environment

Marketing, Promotion and a little bit of writing. This is a writers life nowadays.

The Amazon Iowan

My name is Heidi Cullinan, and I’m here to write stories and publish books.

I’m not here to market. I’ll do a little of that because one must, because there is no cultural bulletin board right now my books can exist at, especially not mine as I’m a bit niche and still largely in my own pond. I strive to lift awareness of not just my work but works like mine, the whole LGBT romance pool, but even that is not the main purpose of why I’m here. I like to thank bloggers with ad purchases and guest posts and ARCs. I’ve made a forum for fans to chat, and if you link/@ reply me on social media and I’m able to see it, I’ll do my best to reply or at least like your post. I don’t buy reviews. I don’t ask people to buy books on a certain day…

View original post 3,858 more words

2 thoughts on “Death By Promotion: Getting Real About the Costs to Authors and Readers in the Current Marketing Environment

  1. I so agree with her. It’s one reason I am not all gung-ho about getting anything published. I don’t have time to do all the blog hopping and marketing that one needs to do in the indie market. It’s a buzz killer. You end up spending more of your time promoting than writing!

Leave a Reply

